Monthly Archives: January 2019

Ringing in a New Fiction Year: Submission Roundup for January 2019

Welcome back for the first Submission Roundup of 2019! Lots of very cool calls to get your writing year off to a fabulous start!

As always, a reminder: I’m not a representative for any of these markets; I’m merely spreading the word! So please direct any questions to the respective editors.

And now let’s get started with this month’s Submission Roundup!

Submission Roundup

NonBinary Review
Payment: .01/word for fiction and nonfiction; $25/flat for visual art; $10/flat for poetry
Length: up to 5,000 words for fiction and nonfiction; up to 3 pages for poetry
Deadline: January 23rd, 2019
What They Want: The latest issue is seeking fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and visual art inspired by Clive Barker’s Books of Blood.
Find the details here.

Nightscript V
Payment: $20/flat
Length: 2,000 to 7,000 words
Deadline: January 31st, 2019
What They Want: Editor C.M. Muller is seeking quiet literary horror tales in the vein of Shirley Jackson, Flannery O’Connor, & Robert Aickman for his annual weird fiction anthology.
Find the details here.

Synth
Payment: $20/flat
Length: 2,000 to 7,000 words
Deadline: January 31st, 2019
What They Want: Another fabulous project from editor C.M. Muller, this new anthology series is seeking dark science fiction stories that involve surreal, cyber themes a la Black Mirror and Alphaville.
Find the details here.

Unnerving
Payment: .03/word for original fiction and .01/word for reprint fiction for magazine submissions; 50% net royalty split for novellas, novels, and collections
Length: Various depending on project, though 800 to 4,000 words (firm) for short fiction
Deadline: February 1st, 2019 for short fiction; February 15th, 2019 for novellas, novels, and collections
What They Want: Unnerving is currently seeking horror, dark fantasy, dark science fiction, and crime fiction of various lengths, including short fiction, and reprint novellas and novels.
Find the details here.

Triangulation: Dark Skies
Payment: .04/word
Length: up to 5,000 words (approximately 3,000 words preferred)
Deadline: February 28th, 2019
What They Want: Speculative fiction that deals with the theme of star-filled skies.
Find the details here.

Hinnom Magazine
Payment: .02/word for fiction; $50/flat for poetry
Length: 1,000 to 6,000 words
Deadline: February 28th, 2019
What They Want: Weird fiction and cosmic horror stories that are grim, otherworldly, and/or morally ambiguous.
Find the details here.

The New Flesh: A Literary Tribute to David Cronenberg
Payment: .01/word
Length: 2,000 to 5,000 words, with approximately 3,000 words being the ideal length
Deadline: March 31st, 2019
What They Want: The editors at Weirdpunk Books are seeking stories that take inspiration from the work of filmmaker David Cronenberg.
Find the details here.

Happy submitting!