Monthly Archives: January 2018

A Brand New Writing Start: Submission Roundup for January 2018

Welcome back for our first Submission Roundup in 2018! Lots of amazing submission calls this month, so if you’ve got a story seeking a home, perhaps one of these will be the perfect fit!

As always, I’m not a representative for any of these markets; I’m merely spreading the word! That means if you have questions, please direct them to the respective publications.

And with that, onward with this month’s Submission Roundup!

Submission Roundup

Enchanted Conversation
Payment: $30/flat for fiction; $10/flat for poetry
Length: 700-2,500 words for fiction; no word limit for poetry
Deadline: January 20th, 2018
What They Want: February’s theme is Un reve d’amour (A Dream of Love). Submissions should focus on love in a fairy tale or folkloric setting. Re-tellings or original stories welcome, as are experimental or traditional approaches.
Find the details here.

FIYAH
Payment: $150/flat for short fiction; $300/flat for novelettes; $50/flat for poetry
Length: 2,000 to 7,000 words for short fiction; up to 15,000 words for novelettes
Deadline: January 31st, 2018
What They Want: Open to speculative fiction from authors from the African continent and diaspora. The upcoming issue’s theme is Big Mama Nature, and stories should focus on nature/climate fiction.
Find the details here.

Apex Publications
Payment: Advance and standard royalty terms
Length: 30,000-40,000 words for novellas; up to 120,000 words for novels
Deadline: January 31st, 2018
What They Want: Open to novella and novel submissions. Genre should be dark science fiction, dark fantasy, or horror.
Find the details here.

Nightscript
Payment: $20/flat
Length: 2,000-7,000 words
Deadline: January 31st, 2018
What They Want: Open to strange tales in the vein of Shirley Jackson, Flannery O’Connor, Robert Aickman, Arthur Machen, and more.
Find the details here.

Unnerving
Payment: .01/word
Length: 400-4,000 words (under 2,000 words preferred)
Deadline: February 15th, 2018
What They Want: Open to horror fiction as well as dark science fiction, dark fantasy, thriller and crime fiction.
Find the details here.

Pantheon Magazine
Payment: .06/word for original fiction; .03/word for reprints
Length: up to 2,000 words with a preference for stories around 1,000 words
Deadline: March 31st, 2018
What They Want: Pantheon Magazine has just opened up submissions for their Gorgon issue. Open to weird, dark fiction, slipstream, magic realism, and horror based on the theme.
Find the details here.

Kaleidotrope
Payment: .01/word for fiction and nonfiction; $5/flat for poetry
Length: No specific word count, though fiction will sell best if it falls between 250 to 10,000 words
Deadline: April 1st, 2018
What They Want: Kaleidotrope has just opened again to submissions. The editor is seeking well-written speculative fiction and poetry.
Find the details here.

Happy submitting!